Quick Impressions – Yuruyuri – 09

Episode 09-

I never really did quite understand why there is always an association with Summertime and scary stories in Japan, nor do these scary stories really appeal to me. As a result, the jokes this episode weren’t really quite funny in my opinion. I guess the introduction of the student council president added some flair to this otherwise very normal episode, but a lot more of the jokes for this series is being reused.

But this show really is random isn’t it? It somehow goes from summer heat to scary stories to super powers to tying back hair to mad scientists causing explosions. Talk about all over the place (o_o).

On the plus side, this series has been leveraging it’s more recent developments to create more pretty amusing scenes. I find it kind of funny every time that Chinatsu relies on Yui, especially after all the fangirlish delusions Chinatsu has had. The one joke that never gets old for me is the constant poking fun at Akari’s “lack of presence”, which made the ghost joke about her at the end pretty funny. I haven’t been getting any gut-wrenching humor out of this series, but it’s a solid way to get a few chuckles here and there.

Quick Impressions: 3.2/5

Leave a comment