Quick Impressions – Idolm@ster – 06

Episode 06 –

Once again, this series shows that it’s not easy business becoming an idol, this time with the emphasis being on the Producer and how he goes about things. This was actually a decent (though not great) episode that gave us some rather interesting insights on the thought processes of the producer, as well as his inherent flaws in his approach to his job. On top of the focus on the Producer there were a few other curveballs thrown here, such as the surprise performance by the normally lazy Miki, and let’s not forget the new debut of the “Ryugu Komachi” trio. The conclusion here was still super-cliche, but it was still much more acceptable than some of the previous arc conclusions.

What made this episode much more intriguing is how, while it still had it’s silly light-hearted stuff, as a whole this episode got much more serious in tone. The producer’s frustration from the lack of jobs,  mixed in with some of his seemingly desperate antics, creates a rather odd blend of seriousness and goofiness when you consider the more light-headed idols. The chemistry between some of the characters worked surprisingly well here, and as a whole this episode was much better than I anticipated. Quite frankly, this caught me completely off guard.

Well, enough with me being super serious about this episode. In other news, Azusa’s new haircut suits her rather well. Oh, and Miki needs to get into serious mode more often, it makes her much more interesting (and appealing) as a character.

Quick Impressions: 3.3/5

7 thoughts on “Quick Impressions – Idolm@ster – 06

  1. I hate Azusa’s new look, she just looks boring and like a reverse trap, she looked great with the long hair.
    To the “plot”, Idolmaster delivers unlike some other shows *cough*mayo chiki*cough*dantalian*cough*kamimechou*cough*cough*cough*

    • o_o; I guess I’m one of the few who actually do like Azusa’s new hairstyle…?

      I still say we need more Miki in serious mode. She seriously saved P-san’s butt this episode. :3

      And yes, more plot than Mayo Chiki. A bit more debatable with Dantalian and Memochou, buuuuut, I can see where you’re coming from. ヽ(´ー`)ノ

      • Idolmaster is getting actually better and doesn’t disappoint you like those other shows.

        PS: my favs are the white hair girl and the loli tsundere

      • Takane and Iori eh? I’m a Miki, Azusa, and Chihaya fan as of now, so I guess I just follow the mainstream popularity trends =.=;

        Idolmaster is definitely improving with each passing episode, but the characters have still remained relatively static in terms of character development. I guess plot improvements don’t necessarily translate to character progression. Still a fun series, just a series that still can improve much more. I think the sheer size of the cast is what’s causing issues here; you’d need a good 36-50 episodes to fully flesh out each heroine really well.

      • I think people are too spoiled with character development and such stuff. You don’t need any character development in a show that what counts is to enjoy your favorite characters and that the show is fun.

  2. Definitely enjoyed this one. Azusa’s hair I guess made her look a little more fresh instead of maidenly. Although I think a different style might have been a little better. It looks almost the same from the front, except without the long hair in the back.

    I liked that shot of the Mami punch. XD

    • Her shorter hair changes up her image completely, and I feel it was in a good way. There are others that are raging out over her haircut though, which makes me wonder if I’m in the minority.

      Mami and Ami are really… weird? They’re energetic, but it’s almost as if it’s artificial at times. I’d say it feels the same for Miki and Haruka, moreso for Haruka. Who the heck trips over thin air so much?? Truly baffling =_=;

Leave a comment