Level E – 09

Episode 09 – Love Me Tender

Not quite as good in terms of humor as the previous installment to this arc (and perhaps one of the weakest episodes for this series by far), but this episode still had some pretty funny gags. What I find great about the comedy for this series is that it manages to get some good laughs out of some of the most random, sometimes outright absurd, sounding events. While there have been occasional lapses in the humor in this series, for the most part this series’ slightly quirky humor revolving around Prince Baka certainly has been entertaining.

The characters have turned out to have their own quirky charms, especially that Prince x Kraft dynamic. Their way of interacting just gets a ton of laughs out of me, and while they might have a bit of quirky behavior here and there, overall the characters provide a great source of entertainment.

The only thing I wish this show could improve on is the continuity to the story; we are still getting character specific arcs, and while I don’t mind this format, at the same time I would like to see some of the previously shown characters (some whom we haven’t seen since episode two or three). That being said, it does look like we’ll start to see more recurring characters (such as the color rangers), which certainly sounds like it has potential.

The weird thing about this show is how the story sounds strangely realistic (of course, once you start believing in aliens it sounds realistic). If not realistic, at least this show has a more down to earth style of humor, which is a refreshing change in comparison to a lot of the outright slapstick humor we’ve been seeing recently.

Overall Enjoyment: 3.5/5

P.S. I would like to mention how, in my previous episode post, I overthought things and assumed that the “girl” was actual a guy who disguised himself as a “girl” for his ski trip. It turns out that “he” was actually a girl, so it was a mistake on my part. Although I do think my interpretation would have been much funnier, it kind of is a shame.

Screenshots are later in the post.

Next Episode Preview:

Leave a comment